Microsoft Changes the MCAS cert to MOS 2007

02-Jun-2010 Microsoft Changes the MCAS cert to MOS 2007

Microsoft and Certiport Announce Name Change for 2007 Microsoft® Office Certification

Microsoft Certified Application Specialist (MCAS) to be Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS) 2007
A change is coming soon for the Microsoft Certified Application Specialist (MCAS) certification program. Starting on June 2, 2010, MCAS will be formally renamed Microsoft Office Specialist 2007 (MOS 2007). As a valued customer and holder of the MCAS credential, we’re providing you with this information in conjunction with public announcements.

MOS 2007 Leverages Second Most Popular Microsoft Brand—Microsoft Office
Following recent analysis on market recognition of the MCAS program name, Certiport and Microsoft cannot ignore the fact that the MOS brand remains significantly more recognizable particularly for those, like you, who have earned the credential. Originally launched in 1998, the MOS brand allows you to leverage stronger visible alignment with the Microsoft Office product logo.

MOS 2007—What Does This Mean for Me?
Replacing MCAS, MOS 2007 will continue as the globally recognized, standards-based certification program—the premier credential that validates your knowledge, skills and abilities relating to the 2007 Microsoft Office system. The program’s name change will NOT include any program requirement or exam content changes, nor does it affect your current status for the MCAS credential.

As someone who has previously earned the MCAS certification, you will be considered a holder of the MOS 2007 certification moving forward. You may choose to use the MOS 2007 designation on business cards or any other personal effects. As an MCAS certification holder, you should consider yourself automatically “grand-fathered” into the MOS 2007 certification program.

For more information, please go to

Previous Comments
Provide Your Feedback

No Very